

Oakland School for the Arts

Board of Directors:Staff:Josefina Alvarado Mena, Esq.Wei-Ling HuberLisa Sh

Josefina Alvarado Mena, Esq.Wei-Ling HuberLisa Sherman-ColtAdrienne BarnesMilica Mitrovich, SecretaryMike Oz

Mike Barr, Treasurer Dr. Jason Reimann Katy Zaugg

Steven BorgDewayne WaltonKimberly PalmoreElise Darwish, ChairDr. Dianne Woods, Vice ChairKathryn KesloskyJonathan DharmapalanStudent Advisor: Nora Cesareo-DenseRomy Douglass

Board of Directors Special Meeting Minutes April 30, 2021, 4:00 PM Oakland School for the Arts

Via Zoom

TIME	TOPIC	WHO
4:04	Call to order/Roll Call Attendance	Ms. Darwish
	Present: Alvarado Mena, Barnes, Barr, Borg, Darwish, Dharmapalan, Huber,	
	Mitrovich, Reimann, Rush Woods, Walton	
4:06	Meeting Norms for Special Meetings Read	Ms. Douglass
4:05	Public Comment	
	Simon Bhuller-Riordan	
	Xander Vazquez	
	Kev Choice	
	Traci Thomas	
	Paulina Gonzalez	
	Brightstar Olsen	
	Tai Min	
	Mike Jung	
	Kareem Muhammed	
	Leela Kiyawat	
	Dr. Melinda de Jesus	
	Brad Erickson	
	Karen Morfin	
	Note: At this time the board voted unanimously to extend public comment	
	from the allotted half hour.	
	Emiliano Estrada	
	Uma Joshi- Garcia	

OSA is fully ADA accessible. Anyone requesting accommodation should contact Romy Douglass rdouglass@oakarts.org or 510-873-8815 at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.

Members of the public may address the Board of Directors on any topic relevant to OSA. There is a 3-minute time limit. OSA reserves the right to limit the number of speakers. All listed times are approximate. Agendas and materials may be viewed at www.oakarts.org or in Room 232, 530 18th Street, Oakland, CA 94612 during normal school hours.



4:35	Leon Jones Jr. Danielle Morse Bob Tinsman Mr. Alvarado Mena Jayla Hernandez Jordan Holly Cava Menzies Tasion Kwamilele Kumar Butler Election of new Board Member (vote needed) and new Board Chair (vote needed) After discussion, there was a nomination on the floor to elect Josefina Alvarado Mena as board chair. Motion Ms. Huber/2 nd Mr. Walton Votes in Favor: Alvarado Mena, Barr, Darwish, Huber, Reimann, Rush Woods Quorum in Favor: Ms. Alvarado Mena is the new Board Chair. A vote for Vice Chair was tabled for a future meeting.	Ms. Darwish
5:00	Dismissal	

Note that more detail of this meeting is available via audio recording available on our website.